Happy Eastercetera

When I started these crafts with Seve last week, the plan was to make a garland that we could hang between the two small windows in our living room.  Unfortunately, I craft like I cook, and there are enough components to make eleventy billion feet of garland, which exceeds the distance between the windows by, shall we say, a tad.

The bunny eggs were inspired by a friend of mine, who did something similar with her daughters, who are more or less the same ages as my kids (21 months, 3.5 years).  I’ve underlined the stuff you’ll need (beyond your kid):

easter_craft_bunny_eggs

Assembly was easy-peasy.  Use some scissors to cut the egg shapes out of construction paper, making sure it’s large enough for a small handprint to fit on it.  Use a small sponge or brush to apply white paint to the palm of your child’s hand, and the second and fourth fingers (to make the “ears”).  Stick hand on paper.  Do it a bunch more times.  Somewhere in between one and eleventy billion times is perfect.

Note: Do not even consider attempting this if your child has any sensory issues around having “stuff” on their hands, unless you have an all-white kitchen, in which case it’s your call, you brave little toaster.  All that to say: it’s not messy, strictly speaking, but it can be, so be prepared for that.  Our preparation consisted mostly of making sure Seve was shirtless before we started.

When the bunny prints have dried, glue on small pink triangles for noses, and use a black marker to draw in the eyes. Et voilà, bunny eggs!

The second craft was Seve’s idea:

“Mama, I think those bunnies are going to need some carrots.”

“Son, I’m gonna need your hand.”

Trace kid’s hand to make a template, then cut out a bunch (har har) using green construction paper, then some carrot bottoms in orange.  Glue the pieces together.  If you want to be fancy, you can curl the green tops around a pencil, but we ain’t fancy.  We lazy.  Straight tops it is:

easter_craft_handprint_carrots

Then take a photo of them and put them up on Facebook or your blog or whatever and marvel at your awesomeness and wonder if you’re ever actually going to get them from your kitchen counter up onto the wall or whatever.

You’ve got a week.  No need to be an overachiever.

Comments

  1. Too cute! I do miss those days when the boys would make cute things like this at school and bring them home as a surprise.

    • Thanks! I do stuff like this at home and marvel at Kindergarten teachers (like my mom) who are able to do this with 20 kids, more or less at the same time. Saints among us, truly.

  2. They are gorgeous. Where is the other ten and a half billion feet of garland going to hang?

  3. I will be thinking of these cute, pleasant Easter decorations as I attend Passover dinner (with my mostly Jewish children and Jewish husband). I grew up with eggs, chocolate, and plastic baskets. Now I enjoy tales of the slaughter of the first born and other plagues while waiting an interminable amount of time to eat yeastless confections and bitter herbs. No disrespect to my new tradition, but I really wish we could incorporate a few cute decorations at least.

  4. Ahh, I remember those precious days.

If you think I’m talking about you here, yeah, you’re probably right.

If you think I’m talking about you here, yeah, you’re probably right.